Preferences

Under Preferences, you can customize your installation of Tropy in several ways. On macOS, Preferences appears under the Tropy menu. On Windows, it appears under Edit > Preferences.

Global

Default Template: You can set any of your templates to be the default. Whichever template you select will automatically apply to any new items you import (though you can change the templates at any later time).

Duplicate Items: You can select a preference for how to deal with duplicate items upon import. Tropy will detect whether a file with your imported photo's name already exists; you can select how you want to manage any file names that are the same.

Theme: Select light or dark mode.

Locale: Tropy can be used in multiple languages. Select your preferred language. If you do not see the language you prefer to work in, and you would be willing to help us translate Tropy into that language, please join our translation team at Transifex! Tropy currently has locales in English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Chinese, and Spanish.

Interface: The preferences here help you match Tropy's behavior to your typical scrolling behavior.

Export: Tropy can export your notes in either HTML or Markdown. Select which one you'd like from the menu here.

Print: Select your print option here. See more at Print items.

Project

Name: You can change the name of your project here if you wish.

ID: You can't change this; it's to help Tropy find your project internally.

File: This is where you can find your file, if you ever need to access the file.

Link photos: Link photos replaces the portable projects hack. Here, you tell Tropy what the relationship is between the project file and the image files.

  • Using absolute paths: This option is how Tropy operates by default. If you choose this option, you can move your project file wherever you like, but you will have to consolidate your photos if you move your photos.

  • Relative to the project file: Select this option if you may want to move your photos and your project file together, or if you store your photos in the same location as your project file (either in a hard drive or a cloud drive). You can open your Tropy project from multiple devices, but you should not move your photos without also moving your project file.

  • Relative to your home directory: This option is the one for you if you store your photos and project file in Dropbox or another cloud drive, and you open your photos on multiple computers where your home directory might have a different name or location. Your photos and project file should be in the same drive, but that drive may be accessed from multiple devices.

You can change this option at any point; however, be sure your photos are fully consolidated (the links are all intact) before making a change. If you make an error in selecting the right option for your situation, you can always consolidate your photos again to restore the links.

Templates

For more information on the Templates section, visit the templates section of the documentation.

Vocabularies

For more information on the Vocabularies section, visit the vocabularies section of the documentation.